Swadesh Darshan 2.0 selects 15 destinations from the NE for tourism development

Swadesh Darshan
WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

The Ministry of Tourism has selected 15 destinations in the Northeast for development under the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme. The scheme aims to promote domestic tourism by developing thematic circuits and creating world-class tourism infrastructure.

Mountain Echo now has WhatsApp Channel. Please join us there.

The selected destinations are:

  • Arunachal Pradesh: Nacho and Mechuka
  • Meghalaya: Shillong and Sohra
  • Mizoram: Aizawl and Champhai
  • Assam: Jorhat and Kokrajhar
  • Manipur: Moirang (Bishnupur)
  • Nagaland: Niuland and Chumukedima
  • Sikkim: Gangtok and Gyalshing
  • Tripura: Agartala and Unakoti

The Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme aims to develop sustainable and responsible tourism in India. The scheme will provide financial assistance to state governments and Union Territories for the development of tourism infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, and hotels.

North East India is a place that consists of many natural beauties, yet has been less explored by tourists. This region is known for its pristine beauty, blessed with majestic hills, scenic waterfalls, and adventurous treks but it has long been under-developed for tourism.

The Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme will help to change that, by making the region more accessible to tourists and providing the infrastructure that is needed to support a thriving tourism industry.

The details of the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 with updates on the PRASHAD scheme and the selection of these 15 destinations was shared during the 11th edition of the International Tourism Mart (ITM) being held in Shillong from November 21-23.

The selection of these 15 destinations for development under the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme is a welcome development for the Northeast. The Ministry of Tourism believes to create jobs, including self-employment for local communities, and preserve and enhance the local cultural and natural resources.

In addition to the development of tourism infrastructure, the ministry has also approved in-principle several planned tourism experiences under the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme. These include:

  • Police Bazaar-Wards Lake Cultural Zone in Shillong
  • Meghalayan-age cave experience in Sohra
  • MG Road experience in Gangtok in Sikkim
  • Mechuka Cultural Haat in Arunachal Pradesh
  • Rock-cut heritage experience in Unakoti in Tripura

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *