Ministry of Railways and IRCTC launch the “North East Discovery” tour via the Bharat Gaurav Train

North East Discovery
WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

The Ministry of Railways, in collaboration with IRCTC Ltd, is launching the “North East Discovery” tour to promote lesser-explored North Eastern states of India. The tour will begin on November 16, 2023, from Delhi Safdarjung Railway Station and will span 15 days, covering various destinations in Assam, Tripura, Nagaland, and Meghalaya.

The tour will be operated on the Bharat Gaurav Deluxe AC Tourist Train, which has modern amenities, including dining cars, a contemporary kitchen, shower cubicles in AC I and AC II coaches, sensor-based washrooms, foot massagers, and a mini library. The train offers three accommodation types: AC I, AC II, and AC III, along with enhanced security features like CCTV cameras, electronic safes, and dedicated security guards for each coach.

Mountain Echo now has WhatsApp Channel. Please join us there.

The itinerary includes stops at Guwahati, Sivasagar, Jorhat, and Kaziranga in Assam, Unakoti, Agartala, and Udaipur in Tripura, Dimapur, and Kohima in Nagaland, and Shillong and Cherrapunji in Meghalaya.

Tour highlights include visits to significant temples, palaces, heritage sites, tea gardens, and national parks in these regions. The train covers approximately 5800 km during the entire journey.

This initiative aligns with the Government of India’s “Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat” and “Dekho Apna Desh” programs, promoting domestic tourism. The tour package is all-inclusive, offering train travel, AC hotel stays, vegetarian meals, transfers, sightseeing, travel insurance, tour escorts, and health precautions. Bookings are available on a first-come, first-serve basis on the IRCTC website. Please click here to know details.

Detailed travel itinerary

Departure from Delhi

The journey kicks off from the historic Delhi Safdarjung Railway Station, where travelers will board the opulent Bharat Gaurav Deluxe AC Tourist Train.

Guwahati – The Gateway to the North East

The first stop of the train is Guwahati, where travelers will visit the revered Kamakhya Temple, explore Umananda Temple, and enjoy a serene sunset cruise on the Brahmaputra River.

Naharlagun and Itanagar

After an overnight journey to Naharlagun Railway Station, a short 30 km drive will take travelers to Itanagar, the capital of Arunachal Pradesh, where they will immerse themselves in the local culture and heritage.

Sivasagar – The Ahom Kingdom

Sivasagar, the old capital of the Ahom Kingdom in Assam, is the next destination. Tourists will have the opportunity to visit the iconic Shiva temple, Sivadol, along with other historic sites like Talatal Ghar and Rang Ghar.

Jorhat and Kaziranga

The journey continues to Jorhat, known for its picturesque tea gardens, and an overnight stay at Kaziranga. Early morning brings an exciting jungle safari at Kaziranga National Park, offering a chance to witness the region’s incredible wildlife.

Unakoti, Agartala, and Udaipur

Next, the train departs for Tripura, where travelers will explore the heritage site of Unakoti in the scenic Jampui Hills. The tour also includes the capital city of Agartala, featuring attractions like Ujjayanta Palace, the Neermahal, and the Tripura Sundari Mandir in Udaipur.

Dimapur and Kohima

Travelers will journey to Dimapur to explore the beautiful state of Nagaland. The scenic train ride from Badarpur station to Lumding Junction in the early hours of the morning is a sight to behold. From Dimapur, guests will be taken to Kohima, where they’ll experience the local way of life, including a visit to Khonoma village.

Shillong and Cherrapunji

The tour takes a pit stop at the majestic Umium Lake en route to Shillong, the capital city of Meghalaya. The next day is filled with excursions to Cherrapunji, known for its stunning landscapes, including Shillong Peak, Elephant Falls, Nawkhalikai falls, and Mawsmai caves.

Return to Guwahati

The journey concludes with a return to Guwahati, where travelers will board the train for their return journey to Delhi, covering an impressive total of around 5800 kilometers throughout the trip.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *